Skip to main content

Annual report time is an opportunity to reflect on our achievements and our efforts to build an Australian Public Service (APS) and Parliamentary Service underpinned by the principles of merit, accountability and transparency.

In November 2022, Ms Linda Waugh resigned as the Parliamentary Service Merit Protection Commissioner. The role of Acting Merit Protection Commissioner has been shared between myself and Mark Davidson since Ms Waugh’s departure.

I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge Ms Waugh’s commitment to merit and fairness in employment-related decisions in the public sector.

I also wish to acknowledge the tremendous support provided by Commission staff to ensure the effective operation of this office.

I look forward to the year ahead and continuing to engage with our colleagues in the Parliamentary Service.

Kirsteen Banwell
Acting Parliamentary Service Merit Protection Commissioner